Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina




Mortgage Lending

The South Carolina State Board of Financial Institutions/Consumer Finance Division requires all companies and branches wishing to act as a mortgage lender/servicer/branch or a mortgage loan originator to complete a record in Nationwide Multi-State Licensing System (NMLS) and submit it to the Consumer Finance Division for approval. Any company, branch or individual wishing to apply for a license must do so through NMLS. Licenses are issued and regulated pursuant to the Mortgage Lending Act.


Mandatory Licensing Advisory:  Business plans must be submitted to SC-BFI prior to applying for a Mortgage/Lender Servicer License through NMLS. See Mandatory Licensing Advisory under the news and information tab on this website.

Managing Principal / QI: The Division requires the Managing Principal (QI) to be a licensed as a South Carolina Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO). This person must meet the requirements of a SC-MLO set forth in §37-22-140(B) and(C) (1) and maintain a South Carolina MLO license.

Surety Bond: SC-BFI requires that a licensee’s surety bond meets the minimum bond amount based upon the licensee’s South Carolina loan volume reported on the mortgage call report. If the amount of coverage required has changed (see below), please mail a surety bond rider with original signatures to the Division.


Coverage Requirements:

Dollar Amount of Loans Bond Amount
$0 to $49,999,999 $50,000
$50,000,000 to $249,999,999 $100,000
$250,000,000 and greater $150,000


Mortgage Lending Reports

Mortgage Exams:

Licensed Mortgage Companies


South Carolina law requires all licensed mortgage brokers and mortgage lenders/servicers to file a mortgage log each year directly with the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs.  The mortgage log includes data required by S.C. Code Ann. § 40-58-65 (for mortgage broker licensees) and S.C. Code Ann. § 37-22-210 (for mortgage lender/servicer licensees) along with the data identified in 12 CFR Part 1003, et seq., the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA).  The deadline to file a mortgage log with the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs is Thursday, March 31, 2024.  If no credit decision was made during 2023 by the licensee or the lender on any South Carolina residential mortgage loan applications, the company must submit a written attestation of “No Activity.”